Innovation

Use IoT to Accelerate Digital Transformation – https://www.informationweek.com/software/enterprise-applications/use-iot-to-accelerate-digital-transformation-/a/d-id/1330839

What is blockchain? The most disruptive tech in decades – https://www.itworld.com/article/3191077/security/what-is-blockchain-the-most-disruptive-tech-in-decades.html

 

Networking

Can IPv4 Networks be Compromised via IPv6? – https://www.internetsociety.org/blog/2018/01/can-ipv4-networks-compromised-via-ipv6/

Wide area networks: What WANs are and where they’re headed – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3248989/lan-wan/wide-area-networks-what-wans-are-and-where-they-re-headed.html

 

Internet Security and Privacy

Saturday Morning Security Spotlight: Breaches and Intel – https://blog.cloudsecurityalliance.org/2018/01/15/saturday-morning-security-spotlight-breaches-intel/

What Is Blockchain Shared Ledger Technology Accounting System Review – https://bitcoinexchangeguide.com/what-is-blockchain-shared-ledger-technology-accounting-system/

Create security culture to boost cyber defences, says Troy Hunt – http://www.computerweekly.com/news/450433452/Create-security-culture-to-boost-cyber-defences-says-Troy-Hunt

IoT-Based DDoS Threats Loom – https://www.networkcomputing.com/network-security/iot-based-ddos-threats-loom/1614938156

Intel promises silicon-based fixes for Meltdown and Spectre this year – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3251704/servers/intel-promises-silicon-based-fixes-for-meltdown-and-spectre-this-year.html

Securing the Linux filesystem with Tripwire – https://opensource.com/article/18/1/securing-linux-filesystem-tripwire

 

Open Source

Celebrating one year of LineageOS – https://lineageos.org/Celebrating-one-year-of-LineageOS/

The 2018 LibrePlanet keynotes are here — you won’t want to miss them! – http://www.fsf.org/blogs/community/the-2018-libreplanet-keynotes-are-here-you-wont-want-to-miss-them

 

Unified Communications – VoIP

How to install Nextcloud Talk for private communication on your cloud server – https://www.techrepublic.com/article/how-to-install-nextcloud-talk-for-private-communication-on-your-cloud-server

 

Data Centre and Storage

4TB Samsung 860 Pro SSD Appears for $1,900 – http://www.pcmag.com/news/358631/4tb-samsung-860-pro-ssd-appears-for-1-900

Talk about a positive mental pl-attitude: WD Ultrastars shed disks without hit to capacity – http://go.theregister.com/feed/www.theregister.co.uk/2018/01/19/wd_takes_away_a_disk_platter_and_says_its_good/

 

Wireless

Wi-Fi Alliance announces WPA3 to secure modern networks – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3247658/wi-fi/wi-fi-alliance-announces-wpa3-to-secure-modern-networks.html

 

Cloud Computing

Software Daily: “The Gravity of Kubernetes” – https://www.cncf.io/news/2018/01/15/software-daily-gravity-kubernetes/

Cloud App Encryption and CASB – https://blog.cloudsecurityalliance.org/2018/01/19/cloud-app-encryption-casb/

IDG Contributor Network: Cloud security is not just the cloud vendor’s responsibility – https://www.csoonline.com/article/3248725/cloud-security/cloud-security-is-not-just-the-cloud-vendor-s-responsibility.html

Docker tutorial: Get started with Docker – https://www.infoworld.com/article/2607941/containers/docker-tutorial-get-started-with-docker.html

Kubernetes v1.9 releases beta support for Windows Server Containers – http://blog.kubernetes.io/2018/01/kubernetes-v19-beta-windows-support.html

Nextcloud GmbH joins the LOT Network – https://nextcloud.com/blog/nextcloud-gmbh-joins-the-lot-network/

 

Servers and Workstations

Kali on the Windows Subsystem for Linux – https://www.kali.org/tutorials/kali-on-the-windows-subsystem-for-linux/

Tests Show Tiny PC Performance Hit From Meltdown, Spectre Fix – http://www.pcmag.com/news/358589/tests-show-tiny-pc-performance-hit-from-meltdown-spectre-fi

Linux 4.15 becomes slowest release since 2011 – http://go.theregister.com/feed/www.theregister.co.uk/2018/01/22/linus_4_15_needs_rc_9/

 

Telecom and Policy

CIRA: Canada’s Internet Factbook 2017 – https://cira.ca/factbook/canadas-internet-factbook-2017

OIF releases CEI 4.0 with focus on 56Gb/s standards – https://www.fibre-systems.com/news/oif-releases-cei-40-focus-56gbs-standards

France goes after companies for deliberately shortening life of hardware – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3245765/hardware/france-goes-after-companies-for-deliberately-shortening-life-of-hardware.html

Harnessing Innovation to Expand Growth for Network Operators – https://telecomnewsroom.com/harnessing-innovation-expand-growth-network-operators/

Aqua Comms Aims For North Atlantic Bridg – http://www.telecomramblings.com/2018/01/aqua-comms-aims-north-atlantic-bridge/

The net neutrality backlash officially begins – http://telecoms.com/487219/the-net-neutrality-backlash-officially-begins/

 

Resort and Hospitality

Hughes Releases Digital Signage App for LG webOS Commercial SmartTV – https://hospitalitytech.com/hughes-releases-digital-signage-app-lg-webos-commercial-smarttv

Hotel Technologies: Integrating for Success – http://hoteltechnologynews.com/2018/01/hotel-technologies-integrating-success/