Strategy and Innovation

50 years of ARPANET: The precursor to the Internet – https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/opinions/50-years-arpanet-precursor-internet/

Gartner via Information Week: 10 Strategic Technology Trends for 2020 – https://www.informationweek.com/strategic-cio/executive-insights-and-innovation/10-strategic-technology-trends-for-2020/d/d-id/1336239

IHOF:  The Early Internet Threatened Librarians; One Woman Changed Their Minds – https://www.internethalloffame.org/blog/2019/09/30/early-internet-threatened-librarians-one-woman-changed-their-minds

Internet Society:  The Invisible Internet – https://www.internetsociety.org/blog/2019/10/the-invisible-internet/

 

Networking

What Business Leaders Should Know About Network Monitoring – https://netcraftsmen.com/what-business-leaders-should-know-about-network-monitoring/

NICT successfully demos petabit-per-second network node – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3447857/nict-successfully-demos-petabit-per-second-network-node.html

SD-WAN can help solve challenges of multi-cloud – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3339622/cloud-computing/sd-wan-can-help-solve-challenges-of-multi-cloud.html

 

Internet Security and Privacy

DIACC: Canadians are Ready to Embrace Digital Identity – https://diacc.ca/2019/10/15/canadians-are-ready-to-embrace-digital-identity/

APNIC: Eavesdroppers and censors can still monitor what you’re viewing even if you’re using encrypted DNS – https://blog.apnic.net/2019/10/22/eavesdroppers-and-censors-can-still-monitor-what-youre-viewing-even-if-youre-using-encrypted-dns/

NordVPN enlists ethical hackers, launches bug bounty programme – https://www.computerweekly.com/news/252473067/NordVPN-enlists-ethical-hackers-launches-bug-bounty-programme

ForgeRock:  IoT Edge Controller: Trusted Identity at the Device Level – https://www.forgerock.com/blog/iot-edge-controller-trusted-identity-device-level

Canadian municipalities are on an island fighting ransomware, and hackers are barely trying – https://www.itworldcanada.com/?p=423387

 

Policy and Regulation

PCI Compliance in AWS – Simplified – https://blog.isc2.org/isc2_blog/2019/10/pci-compliance-in-aws-simplified.html

Architecting for PCI DSS Scoping and Segmentation on AWS – https://d1.awsstatic.com/whitepapers/pci-dss-scoping-on-aws.pdf

IAB:  Avoiding Unintended Harm to Internet Infrastructure – https://www.iab.org/documents/correspondence-reports-documents/2019-2/avoiding-unintended-harm-to-internet-infrastructure/

Internet Association: https://internetassociation.org/the-internet-sector-created-6-million-jobs-2-1-trillion-in-gdp-in-2018-new-ia-research-finds/

CIRA strikes deals with Finland, Poland and New Zealand – https://www.itworldcanada.com/?p=423511

 

Open Source

Nextcloud 17 brings remote wipe, collaborative text editor and next generation secure watermarking – https://nextcloud.com/blog/nextcloud-17-brings-remote-wipe-collaborative-text-editor-and-next-generation-secure-watermarking/

Firefox 70 is Here with New Logo, Secure Password Generator + More – https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2019/10/firefox-70-new-logo-download

 

Unified Communications – VoIP

JVB 2.0: preparing our video router for the next 10 years of video conferencing – https://jitsi.org/news/jvb-2-0-preparing-our-video-router-for-the-next-10-years-of-video-conferencing/

IT needs to make mobile unified communications a priority – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3359192/why-mobile-unified-communications-is-catching-on.html

 

Data Centre and Storage

Optics in the Data Center: Powering Ever-Increasing Capacity Demands – https://blogs.cisco.com/sp/optics-in-the-data-center-powering-ever-increasing-capacity-demands

VMware on AWS gets an on-premises option – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3446796/vmware-on-aws-gets-an-on-premises-option.html

 

Wireless

Beamforming explained: How it makes wireless communication faster – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3445039/beamforming-explained-how-it-makes-wireless-communication-faster.html

 

Cloud Computing

JEDI award signals a critical ‘perception of parity’ in the cloud wars – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3449436/jedi-award-signals-a-critical-perception-of-parity-in-the-cloud-wars.html

CANARIE Launches New, No-Cost Cloud Resources for Canadian Startups – https://www.canarie.ca/canarie-launches-new-no-cost-cloud-resources-for-canadian-startups/

What is Kubernetes? Everything your business needs to know – https://www.zdnet.com/article/what-is-kubernetes-everything-your-business-needs-to-know/

 

Telecom and Carrier

iTel Networks and Comcast Business partner to power up a cross-border broadband footprint – https://itel.com/itel-networks-and-comcast-business-partner-to-power-up-a-cross-border-broadband-footprint/

Cisco Addresses Top SP Network Challenges & Trends – https://www.lightreading.com/optical-ip/cisco-addresses-top-sp-network-challenges-and-trends/v/d-id/755358

 

Servers and Workstations

Intel CPU Shortage to Worsen in 2H2019 – https://www.custompcreview.com/news/intel-cpu-shortage-to-worsen-in-2h2019/

Micron Announces Massive 1TB c200 microSD Card – https://www.custompcreview.com/news/micron-announces-massive-1tb-c200-microsd-card/

Raspberry Pi 4 and Kali – https://www.kali.org/news/raspberry-pi-4-and-kali/

 

Resort and Hospitality

Is Your Hotel Budgeting for Voice Technology? – https://hoteltechnologynews.com/2019/10/is-your-hotel-budgeting-for-voice-technology/

How Hersha Hospitality Closed its Email Security Gap – https://hospitalitytech.com/how-hersha-hospitality-closed-its-email-security-gap