Strategy and Innovation

Staying secure as the IoT tsunami hits – https://www.csoonline.com/article/3289392/data-protection/staying-secure-as-the-iot-tsunami-hits.html

The Bad Old Days of Telephone Answering Machines – https://hackaday.com/2018/07/12/the-bad-old-days-of-telephone-answering-machines/

Remembering Frank Heart – https://www.internethalloffame.org/blog/2018/06/25/remembering-frank-heart

 

Networking

What NetCraftsmen Learned at Cisco Live 2018 – https://www.netcraftsmen.com/netcraftsmen-learned-at-cisco-live-2018/

Cisco’s David Goeckeler talks security, networking, software and SD-WAN outlook – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3280959/lan-wan/cisco-s-david-goeckeler-talks-security-networking-software-and-sd-wan-outlook.html

 

Internet Security and Privacy

CIRA: Weekly Web Security Warning – the post-Canada Day one – https://cira.ca/blog/cybersecurity/weekly-web-security-warning-%E2%80%93-post-canada-day-one

Top Security Tips for Small Businesses – https://blog.cloudsecurityalliance.org/2018/06/27/top-security-tips-small-businesses/

Hackers increasingly targeting cloud infrastructure – https://www.computerweekly.com/news/252444716/Hackers-increasingly-targeting-cloud-infrastructure

Who’s Reading Your Gmail Messages? – https://www.hackread.com/whos-reading-your-gmail-messages/

Deep & Darknet: The Origins of Threats – http://www.isaca.org/Knowledge-Center/Blog/Lists/Posts/ViewPost.aspx?ID=1032

Cost of Canadian data breaches continues to rise, says study – https://www.itworldcanada.com/article/cost-of-canadian-data-breaches-continues-to-rise-says-study/406976

 

Policy and Regulation

Governing cyberspace: a legal perspective – https://blog.apnic.net/2018/07/13/governing-cyberspace-a-legal-perspective/

CRTC: Telecom notice of consultation 2018-242 – CISC Network Working Group – Non-consensus report on quality of service metrics to define high-quality fixed broadband Internet access service – https://crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2018/2018-241.htm?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=site&utm_campaign=clks

CRTC issues $250,000 in penalties to combat malicious online advertising – https://www.canada.ca/en/radio-television-telecommunications/news/2018/07/crtc-issues-250000-in-penalties-to-combat-malicious-online-advertising.html

Rough Guide to IETF 102 – https://www.internetsociety.org/blog/2018/07/rough-guide-to-ietf-102/

 

Open Source

Secure Kali Pi 2018 – https://www.kali.org/tutorials/secure-kali-pi-2018/

To survive Industry 4.0, think beyond the digital – https://opensource.com/open-organization/18/7/transformation-beyond-digital-2

 

Unified Communications – VoIP

Pushing FreeSWITCH Forward – https://freeswitch.com/index.php/2018/07/06/pushing-freeswitch-forward/

SIP Trunk Security with Session Border Controllers – https://www.freepbx.org/sip-trunk-security-with-session-border-controllers/

 

Data Centre and Storage

Wireless

Why ISPs Are High on Whole-Home WiFi – https://www.lightreading.com/mobile/carrier-wifi/why-isps-are-high-on-whole-home-wifi-/d/d-id/744575

WiFi Design: Antenna Selection – https://www.networkcomputing.com/wireless-infrastructure/wifi-design-antenna-selection/1276845762

 

Cloud Computing

TechCrunch: “Four years after its release, Kubernetes has come a long way” – https://www.cncf.io/news/2018/06/06/techcrunch-four-years-after-its-release-kubernetes-has-come-a-long-way/

10 Tips for Managing Cloud Costs – https://www.informationweek.com/cloud/10-tips-for-managing-cloud-costs/d/d-id/1332242

How to get real value from big data in the cloud – https://www.infoworld.com/article/3289744/big-data/how-to-get-real-value-from-big-data-in-the-cloud.html

 

Telecom and Carrier

4,000km fibre-optical transmission link demonstrated using ultra-low-noise optical amplifiers – https://www.fibre-systems.com/news/4000km-fibre-optical-transmission-link-demonstrated-using-ultra-low-noise-optical-amplifiers

AT&T Time Warner acquisition complete – https://www.fibre-systems.com/news/att-time-warner-acquisition-complete

The Impacts of Open Optical Systems – Now & In the Future – http://lightriver.com/the-impacts-of-open-optical-systems-now-in-the-future/

Equinix, Omantel partner for data center – https://www.lightwaveonline.com/articles/2018/07/equinix-omantel-partner-for-data-center.html

 

Servers and Workstations

Microsoft Is Finally Showing Notepad A Little Love – https://www.geek.com/tech/microsoft-is-finally-showing-notepad-a-little-love-1746005

What’s the future of server virtualization? – https://www.itworld.com/article/3285906/virtualization/whats-the-future-of-server-virtualization.html

 

Resort and Hospitality

Corning Introduces Software-Defined Technology Solution to Address Increasing Connectivity and Bandwidth Demands – https://hospitalitytech.com/corning-introduces-software-defined-technology-solution-address-increasing-connectivity-and

Why Real-Time Communication Is Crucial for Hotels – https://hoteltechnologynews.com/2018/06/real-time-communication-crucial-hotels/