Strategy and Innovation

5 reasons digital twins matter to your IoT deployment – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3253891/internet-of-things/5-reasons-digital-twins-matter-to-your-iot-deployment.html

Think, Do We Rule Technology, or Does Tech Rule Us? – https://www.informationweek.com/think-do-we-rule-technology-or-does-tech-rule-us/a/d-id/1331007

Today in Tech – 1956 – https://sourceforge.net/blog/today-tech-february-7/

 

Internetworking

Why the edge has moved to the forefront – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3254172/lan-wan/why-the-edge-has-moved-to-the-forefront.html

What is NFV and what are its cost, performance and scaling benefits? – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3253118/virtualization/what-is-nfv-and-what-are-its-cost-performance-and-scaling-benefits.html

 

Internet Security and Privacy

CIRA: Weekly web security warning – Mirai worm crawls to the top – https://cira.ca/blog/information-technology/weekly-web-security-warning-%E2%80%93-mirai-worm-crawls-top

Winter Olympics hit with cyber attack during opening ceremony – https://www.csoonline.com/article/3254747/hacking/winter-olympics-hit-with-cyber-attack-during-opening-ceremony.html

Mastering email security with DMARC, SPF and DKIM – https://www.itworld.com/article/3254234/network-security/mastering-email-security-with-dmarc-spf-and-dkim.html

State of Canadian cyber awareness training ‘very concerning,’ survey results show – https://www.itworldcanada.com/?p=401666

Hackers are now attacking Cisco ASA VPN bug – https://www.techrepublic.com/article/hackers-are-now-attacking-cisco-asa-vpn-bug/

Cops find ATM spewing cash, car with dodgy plates, stack of $20 bills and hacking kit inside – http://go.theregister.com/feed/www.theregister.co.uk/2018/02/06/us_atm_jackpotting_suspects_arrested/

 

Open Source

GIMP: A Free and Open Source Alternative to Photoshop – https://www.elegantthemes.com/blog/resources/gimp-a-free-and-open-source-alternative-to-photoshop

Block ads on your network with Raspberry Pi and pi-hole – https://opensource.com/article/18/2/block-ads-raspberry-pi

 

Data Centre and Storage

GTT adds point of presence in Montreal facility – https://www.fibre-systems.com/news/gtt-adds-point-presence-montreal-facility

Meltdown, Spectre Create Data Center Dilemma – https://www.networkcomputing.com/data-centers/meltdown-spectre-create-data-center-dilemma/1590003244

 

Wireless

REVIEW: 5 top hardware-based Wi-Fi test tools – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3251664/lan-wan/review-5-top-hardware-based-wi-fi-test-tools.html

 

Cloud Computing

10 Things You Need to Know About Kubernetes – https://informationweek.com/cloud/10-things-you-need-to-know-about-kubernetes/d/d-id/1330975?_mc=rss_x_iwr_edt_aud_iw_x_x-rss-simple&page_number=2

Capacity alone won’t assure good cloud performance – https://www.infoworld.com/article/3253328/application-testing/capacity-alone-wont-assure-good-cloud-performance.html

The issue with Public Cloud – https://nextcloud.com/blog/the-issue-with-public-cloud/

You’re the IT worker in charge of securing the cloud for your company. Welcome to Hell – http://go.theregister.com/feed/www.theregister.co.uk/2018/02/05/securing_the_cloud/

Hyperscale oligarchs to rule the cloud as the big get bigger, and the small … you won’t care – https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/02/08/cisco_hyperscale_growth_cloud_forecast/

 

Telecom and Policy

Rolling in Fiber – http://www.lightwaveonline.com/articles/2018/02/rolling-in-fiber.html

Riding the Adaptive Networks Wave into 2018! – http://lightriver.com/riding-adaptive-networks-wave-2018/

Expanding the U.S Interconnect Hub at the Continental Edge – https://telecomnewsroom.com/expanding-u-s-interconnect-hub-continental-edge/

Insurance companies now telling you what tech to buy with um-missable price signals – http://go.theregister.com/feed/www.theregister.co.uk/2018/02/06/cisco_apple_allianz_aon_cyber_insurance_deal/

Government’s Defence of Proposed CSE Act Falls Short – https://cippic.ca/en/news/C59_CSE_justifications_fall_short

 

Servers and Workstations

Analyzing the Linux boot process – https://opensource.com/article/18/1/analyzing-linux-boot-process

Kali Linux 2018.1 Release – https://www.kali.org/news/kali-linux-2018-1-release/

Intel launches new Xeon processor aimed at edge computing – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3255296/data-center/intel-launches-new-xeon-processor-aimed-at-edge-computing.html

VLC 3.0 Update Supports HDR10, Chromecast streaming – https://www.pcmag.com/news/359146/vlc-3-0-update-supports-hdr10-chromecast-streaming?source=SectionArticles

 

Resort and Hospitality

Epson Teams Up with Top Designers to Create Innovative Visual Solutions – https://hospitalitytech.com/epson-teams-top-designers-create-innovative-visual-solutions