Information Technology Industry News

December 24, 2017

 

Networking

 

IXPs: Part of a Smart Community – https://cira.ca/blog/state-internet/internet-exchange-points-part-smart-community

Today in Tech – 1972 – Atari Corp Releases Pong – https://sourceforge.net/blog/today-tech-november-29/

IoT Tipping Point: Connection Capacity – http://www.networkcomputing.com/networking/iot-tipping-point-connection-capacity/503542613

 

Internet Security and Privacy

 

5 steps to secure IoT gifts this holiday season – https://cira.ca/blog/information-technology/5-steps-secure-iot-gifts-holiday-season

Internet Security matters for small businesses (SMBs) – IDG Contributor Network: Approaching cybersecurity as a critical business function – https://www.csoonline.com/article/3243573/risk-management/approaching-cybersecurity-as-a-critical-business-function.html#tk.rss_all

How to add a layer of privacy to your conversations using Tor Messenger – https://www.techrepublic.com/article/how-to-add-a-layer-of-privacy-to-your-conversations-using-tor-messenger/#ftag=RSS56d97e7

Citizen Lab and CIPPIC Release Analysis of the Communications Security Establishment Act – https://citizenlab.ca/2017/12/citizen-lab-and-cippic-release-analysis-of-the-communications-security-establishment-act/

Braking news: Nissan Canada hacked, up to 1.1m Canucks exposed – http://go.theregister.com/feed/www.theregister.co.uk/2017/12/22/nissan_canada_hacked/

 

Open Source

 

Nextcloud partners with Purism to provide a secure, open source and privacy focused mobile device – https://nextcloud.com/blog/nextcloud-partners-with-purism-to-provide-a-secure-open-source-and-privacy-focused-mobile-device/

Good guide to cryptocurrency fundamentals – https://bitcoinexchangeguide.com/bitcoin-mining/

Top 9 Linux and Raspberry Pi education stories in 2017 – https://opensource.com/article/17/12/linux-and-raspberry-pi-education

 

Unified Communications – VoIP

 

How Unified Communications Can Improve Customer Service – https://www.netcraftsmen.com/unified-communications-can-improve-customer-service/

Avaya powers the hockey Mecca: Montreal Canadiens’ Bell Centre – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3167418/mobile-wireless/avaya-powers-the-hockey-mecca-montreal-canadiens-bell-centre.html#tk.rss_ucvoip

 

Data Centre and Storage

 

Oh, the weather outside is frightful, but the data centre temp’s delightful – http://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/12/20/our_15m_data_centre_meltdown_during_a_blizzard/

Seagate’s New Multi-Actuator Could Double Hard Drive Speeds – https://www.extremetech.com/computing/260946-seagates-new-multi-actuator-technology-double-hard-drive-speeds

 

Wireless

 

Wi-Fi 2018: What does the future look like? – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3237146/lan-wan/wi-fi-2018-what-does-the-future-look-like.html#tk.rss_wifi

Improving WiFi Connections in High-Density Environments – http://www.networkcomputing.com/wireless-infrastructure/improving-wifi-connections-high-density-environments/927799455

 

Telecom and Policy

 

GDPR Puts High Price on Security Breaches – http://www.networkcomputing.com/network-security/gdpr-puts-high-price-security-breaches/505214262

BT and Huawei to create photonics dream team at Cambridge University – https://www.fibre-systems.com/news/bt-and-huawei-create-photonics-dream-team-cambridge-university

Chris Seidl to the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology – Rural Broadband – https://www.canada.ca/en/radio-television-telecommunications/news/2017/11/chris_seidl_to_thestandingcommitteeonindustryscienceandtechnolog.html

 

Resort and Hospitality

 

Securing the IoT: What Hoteliers Need to Know – https://hospitalitytech.com/securing-iot-what-hoteliers-need-know

4 Ways Texting Will Help Your Hotel This Holiday Season – http://hoteltechnologynews.com/2017/12/4-ways-texting-will-help-hotel-holiday-season/

SMS Software for Hospitality Industry – https://trumpia.com/hospitality.php