Strategy and Innovation

UBports – Core Devices – Officially supported Ubuntu Touch devices – https://devices.ubuntu-touch.io/

Cisco launches Silicon One, enters component biz – https://www.itworldcanada.com/article/cisco-launches-silicon-one-enters-component-biz/425219

 

Networking

4 authentication use cases: Which protocol to use? – https://www.csoonline.com/article/3487596/4-authentication-use-cases-which-protocol-to-use.html

What is SAML? How it works and how it enables single sign on – https://www.csoonline.com/article/3232355/what-is-saml-how-it-works-and-how-it-enables-single-sign-on.html

Network Stability Through Resilience Engineering – https://netcraftsmen.com/network-stability-through-resilience-engineering/

 

Internet Security and Privacy

Better mail security with DANE for SMTP – https://blog.apnic.net/2019/11/20/better-mail-security-with-dane-for-smtp/

Introducing SMTP TLS Reporting – https://www.hardenize.com/blog/smtp-tls-reporting-tls-rpt

University of Ottawa to open cybersecurity research hub – https://www.itworldcanada.com/article/university-of-ottawa-to-open-cybersecurity-research-hub/

Corporate Contractors and the Requirement for Zero-Trust Network Access – https://cloudsecurityalliance.org/blog/2019/10/21/corporate-contractors-and-the-requirement-for-zero-trust-network-access/

The NSA Warns of TLS Inspection – https://www.schneier.com/blog/archives/2019/11/the_nsa_warns_o.html

 

Policy and Regulation

Data Sovereignty: The imperative for action – https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/opinions/data-sovereignty-imperative-action/

RFC 8689: SMTP Require TLS Option – https://www.rfc-editor.org/info/rfc8689

 

Open Source Tech

Jitsi: Open Source SFUs – https://jitsi.org/news/open-source-sfus/

Firefox 71 Released with Native MP3 Decoding, Other Changes – https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2019/12/firefox-71-released-download

 

Unified Communications – VoIP

Fairphone: Teaming up with Vodafone – https://www.fairphone.com/en/2019/11/19/teaming-up-with-vodafone/

 

Data Centre and Storage

Eliminating the data center network bottleneck – https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/opinions/eliminating-data-center-network-bottleneck/

Data centers in 2020: Automation, cheaper memory – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3487684/data-centers-in-2020-automation-cheaper-memory.html

 

Cloud Computing

AWS Compute Optimizer – Your Customized Resource Optimization Service – https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/aws/aws-compute-optimizer-your-customized-resource-optimization-service/

The Danger of Unused AWS Regions – https://blog.cloudsploit.com/the-danger-of-unused-aws-regions-af0bf1b878fc

 

Telecom and Carrier

China threatens Germany over Huawei – https://telecoms.com/501405/china-threatens-germany-over-huawei/

Telesat and NSSLGlobal Confirm Ultra-Low Latency of Telesat’s LEO System – https://www.telesat.com/news-events/telesat-and-nsslglobal-confirm-ultra-low-latency-telesats-leo-system

Resort and Hospitality Tech

Best Western Hotels and Resorts to Leverage Full AWS Portfolio – https://hospitalitytech.com/best-western-hotels-and-resorts-leverage-full-aws-portfolio

SilverStar Mountain Resort Climbs to New Heights With Maestro PMS Supporting Its Multi-Property Operations – https://hoteltechnologynews.com/2019/09/silverstar-mountain-resort-climbs-to-new-heights-with-maestro-pms-supporting-its-multi-property-operations/