Strategy and Innovation

World’s First 5G Backhaul Demo over LEO Satellite – https://www.telesat.com/news-events/worlds-first-5g-backhaul-demo-over-leo-satellite

Space-sourced power could beam electricity where needed – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3453601/space-sourced-power-could-beam-electricity-where-needed.html

2019 Internet Hall of Fame Inductees Announced! – https://www.internethalloffame.org/blog/2019/09/27/2019-internet-hall-fame-inductees-announced

 

Networking

Netcraftsmen: Inbound QoS – https://www.netcraftsmen.com/inbound-qos/

 

Internet Security and Privacy

Digital ID tech must be transparent if it is to work for citizens – https://webfoundation.org/2019/08/digital-id-tech-must-be-transparent-if-it-is-to-work-for-citizens/

Wickr: The Most Important Features to Have for Secure Communication – https://wickr.com/the-most-important-features-to-have-for-secure-communication/

Palo Alto: Unit 42 Named Top Zero-Day Vulnerability Contributor by Microsoft – https://unit42.paloaltonetworks.com/unit-42-named-top-zero-day-vulnerability-contributor-by-microsoft/

Policy and Regulation

Web Foundation calls on legislators to require greater human rights transparency from tech companies – https://webfoundation.org/2019/11/adrian-lovett-calls-for-legislation-requiring-greater-transparency-from-tech-companies-at-the-international-grand-committee-on-disinformation-and-fake-news/

Internet as a Public Utility: A Canadian Case Study – https://www.thetelecomblog.com/2016/06/23/internet-as-a-public-utility-a-canadian-case-study/

Congress to FCC: Where’s the damn report on mobile companies selling location data? – https://www.theregister.co.uk/2019/11/08/congress_fcc_location_data/

RFC 8659: DNS Certification Authority Authorization (CAA) Resource Record – https://www.rfc-editor.org/info/rfc8659

Canadian Copyright Website Blocking Underway As TekSavvy Appeals Federal Court Ruling – http://www.michaelgeist.ca/2019/11/canadian-copyright-website-blocking-underway-as-teksavvy-appeals-federal-court-ruling/

The Internet Society & Public Interest Registry: A New Era of Opportunity – https://www.internetsociety.org/blog/2019/11/the-internet-society-and-public-interest-registry-a-new-era-of-opportunity/

 

Open Source

Self-hosted Matrix with Riot: Team Chat Under Your Control – https://www.elegantthemes.com/blog/business/self-hosted-matrix-with-riot-team-chat-under-your-control

Ubuntu 20.04 Release Date & Planned Features – https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2019/10/ubuntu-20-04-release-features

 

Unified Communications – VoIP

Avaya and RingCentral Announce Strategic Partnership Closing – https://www.uctoday.com/unified-communications/ucaas/avaya-and-ringcentral-announce-strategic-partnership-closing/

Jitsi Meet now available on F-Droid – https://jitsi.org/news/jitsi-meet-now-available-on-f-droid/

 

Data Centre and Storage

Post USMCA: Canada is still the right choice for data sovereignty – http://rootdatacenter.com/post-usmca-canada-still-right-choice-data-sovereignty/

Nvidia quietly unveils faster, lower power Tesla GPU accelerator – https://www.networkworld.com/article/3482097/nvidia-quietly-unveils-faster-lower-power-tesla-gpu-accelerator.html

 

Wireless

Cloud Computing

Palo Alto:  Elasticity of Scale: Can Your Cloud Security Keep Up? – https://blog.paloaltonetworks.com/2019/11/cloud-security-scale/

AWS Systems Manager Explorer – A Multi-Account, Multi-Region Operations Dashboard – https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/aws/aws-systems-manager-explorer-a-multi-account-multi-region-operations-dashboard/

Humber College launching cloud computing certificate in partnership with AWS – https://www.itworldcanada.com/?p=424087

 

Telecom and Carrier

Cologix Adds New 2.5 MW To Downtown Montreal Data Cente – https://newswire.telecomramblings.com/2019/10/cologix-adds-new-2-5-mw-downtown-montreal-data-center/

Bruce Schnier: Eavesdropping on SMS Messages inside Telco Networks – https://www.schneier.com/blog/archives/2019/11/eavesdropping_o_8.html

 

Servers and Workstations

Micron announces 1TB industrial microSD, aimed at surveillance markets – https://www.techrepublic.com/article/micron-announces-1tb-industrial-microsd-aimed-at-surveillance-markets/

 

Resort and Hospitality

Banff Lodging Company Centralizes Call Center Operations and Revenue Management with Maestro PMS Suite – https://hoteltechnologynews.com/2019/11/banff-lodging-company-centralizes-call-center-operations-and-revenue-management-with-maestro-pms-suite/

POS Integration: The Problem Restaurants Want Solved in Next POS Buy – https://hospitalitytech.com/pos-integration-problem-restaurants-want-solved-next-pos-buy